Wake-up Mocha Oatmeal Pudding

Chocolate?  Coffee?  Oatmeal?  Great ways to boost your morning, all rolled up in one!!!  I normally don’t like coffee, especially black coffee (ugh, so bitter!), but this big bowl of mocha oatmeal is just out of this world!

photo 5

This breakfast is also super filling, using a special cooking technique. 😉

Who needs coffee shops when you can have a bowl of this stuff?!

After I stirred the banana in.

After I stirred the banana in.

 

Mocha Oatmeal Pudding (Serves one)

  • 1/3 Cup oats
  • 1 Cup milk of choice (I used unsweetened Silk Almond Milk)
  • 1 Cup coffee (I used cold leftover coffee from the day before, use what you have 🙂 )
  • 1 Tablespoon cocoa powder
  • 1 Frozen banana*
  • Sweetener to taste (my banana was so big and sweet I omitted sweetener)
  • Optional: vanilla extract, or salt to taste.
  1. Bring milk to boil on stove, then add oats and optionally salt.  Stir, and cook until fluffy.
  2. Add coffee, stir, and bring to a boil.  Add cocoa powder, stirring again.  Add vanilla if desired.
  3. Cook until fluffy, and pour into a bowl still hot.  Put banana and sweetener on top, and melt into oatmeal by stirring.  Enjoy!

 

*The frozen banana melts into the oatmeal, cooling the oatmeal and adding sweetness.  Whenever I make oatmeal, I feel like it’s too hot to eat right away, so this solves my problem 😉  If you like super hot oatmeal, use a fresh banana.  If you don’t like bananas, just use sweetener then. 🙂

 

This twice cooking method doubles the volume of the oatmeal, and makes it a more pudding like consistency.  Whenever I first made this, after smelling it after adding the cocoa powder, it smelled bitter and I got worried.  But after the banana went in, that problem went away and it became the best bowl of oatmeal ever! 🙂

 

Okay, I’m done rambling.  Don’t worry, no more caffeine for me today. 😉

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Oatmeal, Recipes, Vegan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

