Food Spotlight: Apples

“An apple a day keeps the doctor away.”

 

Apples are one of my favorite fruits.  Well, actually they are my all time favorite fruit.  Apples are sweet, versatile, and nutritious!

image

Apples are also packed with fiber.  In the apple above, there are over 5 grams of fiber for just over 100 calories.  Apples also have lots of vitamin C.  Beware of the sugar though, and remember, everything in moderation! 😉

image

 

I eat an apple every single morning.  They help me feel alert, and eating an apple with 16 ounces of water in the morning helps my digestive system too.

Of course though, I love cooking with them too!  Here are some recipes that I’ve already posted:

Apple Peanut Butter Pancake

Apple Cinnamon Almond Butter Baked Oatmeal

Overnight Oats in a Nut Butter Jar

 

Here also are instructions for slicing an apple, which I hope you may find helpful.  It’s something I’ve been doing for quite a while, so I was surprised when one day, my sister said, “Wow, how do you cut your apples to look like that?!”  So here’s the answer. 😉

 

How to Slice an Apple

First, quarter the apple.

image

Here’s the “shaping” part.  Start by cutting across, under the stem.

image

Then, cut down under the core.

image

So now, it’ll look like this.

image

Now flip the quarter over, and repeat from the other side.

imageimage

 

Then, just meet both sides of the cut and pop out!

image

There you have it!  Now repeat for the other three quarters and you’re all done.

image

 

So do you like apples?  What are your favorite ways of eating them?  Comment below!

Also, what do you think of these kind of posts?  Should I post a “Food Spotlight” every week, on Fridays?  Let me know what you think!

This entry was posted in Food Spotlight, Recipes, Vegan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Food Spotlight: Apples

  1. dapperdolly says:

    Lovely! I think doing a food spotlight is an excellent idea 🙂

  2. Pingback: Apple Crumble | Healthy Lifestyle Pursuits

Leave a Reply

